Short answer: a product carbon footprint (PCF) for polyacrylamide is only comparable between suppliers when four things are stated together — the declared functional unit, and whether it is per kg of active polymer or per kg of delivered product, the system boundary (cradle-to-gate at which gate), the reference year and production site, and the electricity accounting method. Ask for those four fields plus the calculation standard before you compare any two numbers. A PCF without them is a marketing figure, not procurement evidence.
Why PCF requests are reaching PAM buyers now
On 23 September 2026 BASF issued a news release on lower-carbon paper-coating dispersions. BASF reported a 20–45% lower product carbon footprint for selected paper-coating dispersion products compared with the corresponding conventional products, achieved through low-PCF raw materials, renewable energy and green steam, and a mass-balance approach. Those figures are BASF’s own, for BASF’s own products, and they are reported here as a market signal only.
Two boundaries matter before that announcement gets applied to a PAM enquiry. First, paper-coating dispersions are not polyacrylamide. They are a different chemistry serving a different function in the paper mill, so a percentage reduction reported for a dispersion product says nothing about the footprint of an acrylamide-based flocculant. Second, a percentage improvement is not an absolute number. “20–45% lower than the corresponding conventional product” is only meaningful if you also know what the conventional product’s footprint was and on what basis it was calculated.
What the announcement does tell you is that large chemical suppliers are now publishing PCF claims as a competitive feature, which means your own procurement team will increasingly be asked to collect comparable evidence for every purchased chemical, including flocculants. This article is about how to ask for that evidence in a way that produces something auditable.
Where a purchased flocculant lands in your carbon accounting
Purchased chemicals sit in Scope 3 Category 1, purchased goods and services, under the GHG Protocol. The Scope 3 Calculation Guidance sets out four methods for that category, and knowing which one your own reporting uses determines what you actually need from a supplier:
- Supplier-specific method — uses a cradle-to-gate PCF from the actual supplier of the actual product. This gives the most direct product-level link between a supplier’s footprint and your reported number, and it is the method that needs the full evidence pack described below.
- Hybrid method — combines supplier-specific data where available with secondary data for the rest, so supplier data can still be incorporated for selected processes. Supplier-specific gives the most direct product-level link; hybrid can also incorporate supplier data, just not necessarily for the whole product.
- Average-data method — uses industry-average emission factors applied to mass purchased. A supplier’s PCF claim does not change this result at all.
- Spend-based method — applies an emission factor to money spent. A cheaper purchase mechanically reports lower emissions, which is why it is the weakest method for chemical procurement.
The practical consequence: if your organisation reports on the spend-based or average-data method, collecting supplier PCF documents will not change your reported number this year. It is still worth collecting, because it positions you for a later move to supplier-specific data, but do not let a PCF conversation delay a technical qualification that is on the critical path.
Fix the functional unit before you compare
This is where most flocculant PCF comparisons fall apart. Polyacrylamide is sold as powder, as emulsion and as solution, with very different active-polymer contents. A number quoted per kilogram of delivered product is not comparable across those forms.
Emulsion products contain oil and water alongside the active polymer; a solution product may be largely water. If supplier A quotes per kg of delivered emulsion and supplier B quotes per kg of delivered powder, B’s number will look worse even if B’s active polymer is cleaner, simply because B is not shipping diluent. Insist on kg CO₂e per kg of active polymer, and separately on the delivered-basis figure if you want to include the logistics of shipping water.
There is a second functional-unit question that matters more than the first and is almost never asked: footprint per unit of treatment duty. If grade X has a 10% higher PCF per kilogram but your jar and plant testing shows it does the same job at 25% lower dose, grade X is the lower-carbon purchase. That comparison requires your own dose data, which is why PCF evidence collection and technical trials belong in the same conversation rather than in separate ones. Our dosage calculation guide covers how to put the dose side of that ratio on a defensible footing.
The evidence-request table
Send this as a table in your RFQ rather than as a general question about sustainability. A supplier who can answer it has done the work; a supplier who returns a single number without the context fields has not, regardless of how low the number is.
| Field requested | Why it changes the number | Answer is unusable if |
|---|---|---|
| Calculation standard followed | Different standards allow different boundaries and allocation rules | “Internal method” with no published reference |
| Functional unit | Per kg active polymer vs per kg delivered product can differ by a factor of several for emulsions and solutions | Unit not stated, or “per kg” without specifying which kg |
| System boundary and gate | Cradle-to-gate at the polymer plant excludes outbound freight to your port | Boundary undefined, or freight silently included in one quote and not the other |
| Production site and country | Grid intensity and steam source are site-specific; a multi-plant supplier may have very different footprints per plant | A corporate-average figure applied to the specific grade you are buying |
| Reference year | Grid factors and feedstock routes can change between reporting years | Year not given; an older reference year needs a statement of what has changed at the site since |
| Electricity accounting basis | Market-based accounting with purchased certificates can report far lower than location-based grid data for the same plant | Basis not stated, or only the lower of the two is shown |
| Allocation method for co-products | Mass, energy or economic allocation shift burden between co-products of the same process | Method not disclosed where co-products clearly exist |
| Monomer sourcing route | Upstream acrylonitrile/acrylamide production is a large line item in the cradle-to-gate total, so how it was accounted for changes the result | Upstream treated as a generic average while the polymerisation step is calculated in detail |
| Third-party verification status | Distinguishes a verified figure from a self-declared calculation | Logo or badge shown with no verification statement or scope |
Mass balance: what it does and does not mean
BASF’s announcement names a mass-balance approach as one route to the reported reduction. Mass balance is an allocation approach for chain of custody: renewable or recycled feedstock is fed into an existing integrated production system alongside fossil feedstock, and an equivalent quantity is attributed to specific product volumes sold. That is the approach named in BASF’s announcement for those products. Whether a given mass-balance claim is credible for your purposes depends on documentation rather than on the term itself, so ask for the named chain-of-custody scheme, the allocation record for your volume, and the scope of any verification.
What it does not mean is that the molecules in your specific drum are physically of renewable origin. For procurement, three questions follow:
- Is the attribution certified, and under which scheme? Mass-balance claims normally rest on an external chain-of-custody certification. Ask for the scheme name and certificate scope.
- Does your own reporting framework accept mass-balance attribution? Some customer and regulatory frameworks accept it; others require physical traceability. Confirm before you pay a premium for it.
- Is the attributed volume contractually tied to your order? An attributed product is only lower-carbon on paper if the attribution is allocated to the volume you actually buy, and stated on the order documentation.
BASF describes its named paper-coating dispersions as drop-in products requiring no requalification for those products. That claim is specific to those dispersions and cannot be extended to a different supplier or a different PAM grade: each combination of mass-balance chemistry and application requires its own identity and performance evidence. For any mass-balance PAM grade you are offered, provide specification, batch documentation and, where dissolution behaviour, viscosity or dose matter, your own test data. A PCF document is not evidence that a grade behaves the same as the product it is replacing.
The five context fields that move a PAM footprint most
When you receive two PCF figures that differ, these are the fields to compare first. They are where disclosure most often varies between studies, not a guaranteed ranking of contributions — the actual ranking depends on the specific product, site and process.
- Upstream monomer route. For acrylamide-based polymers the upstream monomer chain is a major contributor, so the supplier’s monomer source and how it was accounted for should be stated rather than assumed, and compared alongside the polymerisation step rather than instead of it.
- Electricity intensity at the production site. Polymerisation, drying and grinding are energy-intensive steps, so the electricity source and accounting basis at the specific site is a field to compare directly rather than infer from the country.
- Drying energy and product form. Powder requires drying that an emulsion route does not, while an emulsion carries oil and water. These are different footprints for different reasons, which is another reason to compare on active polymer.
- Steam source. Whether process steam comes from fossil fuel, waste heat recovery or a renewable source can be a material line item, and it is frequently not disclosed. Ask for it rather than inferring it.
- Transport, if included. Freight contribution depends on mode, distance and load, so ocean, inland trucking and air legs should each be stated rather than assumed to be minor. If one quote includes delivery and the other stops at the plant gate, normalise before comparing.
Failure modes in PCF evidence review
| What you see | Likely cause | What to ask next |
|---|---|---|
| Two suppliers differ by more than a factor of two on a similar grade | Different functional units, or one includes upstream monomer in detail and the other uses a generic factor | Request both figures restated per kg active polymer with the upstream method named |
| A percentage reduction with no absolute figure | Baseline product and baseline year not disclosed | Request the absolute kg CO₂e per kg active polymer for both the new and reference product |
| Figure is very low but the plant is on a fossil-heavy grid | Market-based electricity accounting with purchased attributes | Request the location-based figure alongside the market-based one |
| Corporate sustainability report quoted instead of a product figure | No product-level study exists yet | Ask directly whether a product-level PCF exists for this grade; accept “not yet” as an answer |
| Certificate supplied for a different grade or a different plant | Document reuse across a product family | Check grade code and site on the document against the grade and site on the quotation |
| Lower PCF but higher dose in your trial | Per-kilogram comparison instead of per-duty comparison | Recalculate on kg CO₂e per m³ treated or per tonne of dry solids at your measured dose |
What a document review proves and cannot prove
A complete PCF evidence pack can support: that a supplier has calculated a product-level footprint against a named standard; that the boundary, unit, site and year are defined well enough for you to normalise between suppliers; that any mass-balance claim rests on a named certification; and that the figure can be entered into supplier-specific Scope 3 Category 1 reporting with the method documented.
It cannot prove: that the grade performs at your required dose on your feed — only bench and plant testing establishes that; that the delivered batch was produced under the conditions in the study; that a lower per-kilogram figure produces lower total emissions in your plant, which depends on dose; or that the document has been independently verified, unless a verification statement with a stated scope is attached.
RFQ checklist: what to send us
If PCF evidence is part of your qualification, send these with the technical enquiry so both threads move together rather than sequentially:
- The grade or duty, and the product form you can accept (powder, emulsion, solution) — form affects both the footprint basis and the handling equipment you need.
- Which Scope 3 Category 1 method your organisation reports on, so we know whether a supplier-specific figure would actually change your reported number.
- Whether your framework accepts mass-balance attribution or requires physical traceability.
- Your measured or target dose and treated volume, so a per-duty comparison is possible rather than only per-kilogram.
- The destination and required delivery terms, so it is clear whether freight sits inside or outside the boundary being compared.
- Any customer-driven deadline for the evidence, separately from the technical qualification timeline.
Where a document you are asking for does not exist for a given grade, we will say that rather than substitute a corporate-average figure or a related product’s study. Documents available for a grade or batch are confirmed per enquiry; safety and handling documentation is covered in our SDS and handling guide, and storage conditions that affect delivered-product condition are in the shelf life and storage guide.
For the commercial side of a first order — quantities, documents, terms and how quotations are structured — see our China PAM supplier, MOQ and pricing guide. If your PCF question is arriving from a paper mill context specifically, the application background is in our paper retention aid guide and on the paper-making application page.
Sources
- BASF news release, 23 September 2026 — reported 20–45% lower product carbon footprint for selected paper-coating dispersions versus corresponding conventional products, via low-PCF raw materials, renewable energy and green steam, and a mass-balance approach. Figures are BASF’s, for BASF’s paper-coating dispersion products, which are not polyacrylamide: basf.com/global/en/media/news-releases/2026/09/p-26-158
- Together for Sustainability — chemical-sector PCF guideline, used here as the reference for sector-specific calculation practice: tfs-initiative.com/pcf-guideline
- GHG Protocol — Scope 3 Calculation Guidance, source for the Category 1 purchased goods and services methods (supplier-specific, hybrid, average-data, spend-based): ghgprotocol.org — Scope 3 Calculation Guidance (PDF)
Third-party figures above are attributed to their publishers and describe those publishers’ own products or methods. Nothing in this article is a ChinaPAM carbon-footprint study, certification or performance claim. Bench screening narrows candidates; field conditions and your own measured dose control the final choice.
Send the grade and the evidence fields you need
Tell us the duty or grade, the product form you can accept, your measured or target dose, and which PCF fields your procurement framework requires. We will confirm which documents exist for that grade or batch, state plainly where one does not, and quote against your actual order conditions.
Quotation based on grade, quantity and destination · info@chinapolyacrylamide.com · WhatsApp +86 187-3759-0940

